top of page
Search
  • Sheri Tyler

My favorite way to combat writer's block

There was a point in time at which I didn't believe in writer's block. It had never happened to me. I learned the hard way that it really exists. There are times when life becomes overwhelming and bleeds into-- well, pretty much everything. When that happens it can be hard to ignore those pressing demands and focus on writing.

I found a way to deal with it.

When I sit down to write but can't seem to focus, I open my "Morning Pages" file, write today's date at the top of it, and then just start dumping all my problems on the page. Sometimes I just write a journal entry. Sometimes I write a letter to the person making things difficult (but I don't send it). Sometimes I write lists of things I need to do.

Oddly enough, that's usually all I need to do to get back on track with my writing. It normally takes between five and fifteen mintues for me to get my garbage down on the page so I can set it aside an move on.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page